Frances Decker Wentz Award


The Wentz Award


The Wentz Award

The Wentz Award, established by the Corriher-Linn-Black Library of Catawba College in honor of Frances Decker Wentz, is presented annually to a Junior or Senior student, having served at least two years as a student assistant in the Library, who has demonstrated, through distinguished performance of duties, a real concern and aptitude for the theory and practice of library science and service.

The Wentz Award is given at the annual Spring Awards Convocation. An individual crystal paperweight is presented to the student winner.

Recipients of the Wentz Award

2020 - Present
2022/23 Kristen Marie Ault
2021/22 Bailey Wilson Birkhead
2020/21 Jacob Robert Aiton and L. Daniel Harvey
2019/20 Emily Louise Fogleman
2018/19 Tafari Shariff Lanclos
2017/18 Kala Elizabeth Byrd and Chelsea Elizabeth Hatfield
2016/17 Angelica Crisafulli and Cynthia Snipes
2015/16 Anna Elizabeth Carter and Forest Moon Fugate
2014/15 No Recipient
2013/14 No Recipient
2012/13 Katherine Carpenter and Maggie Keeble
2011/12 Mackenzie Westbrook and Whitney Mullis
2010/11 Kaitlyn Benjes
2009/10 Neil Gonzalves
2008/09 Sarah Dalida Blackmore
2007/08 Lauren Alston Smith
2006/07 Angela Fontaine Jacobs
2005/06 Lindsay Mellon
2004/05 Darrell Smith
2003/04 Daniel Safrait
2002/03 Virginia Summey
2001/02 Matthew Millspaugh
2000/01 Heather Morgan
1999/00 Nicole Michele Lochead
1998/99 Kerry Nelison
1997/98 Margaret Elizabeth Nachtigall
1996/97 Gerry Frances Ingle
1995/96 Charlena Alise Harvell/Karen Elizabeth Witkop
1994/95 Jennifer Gelien
1993/94 Elaine Elizabeth Doll/John Matthew McGrath
1992/93 Dianne Y. Hill
1991/92 Sonya Hopkins
1990/91 Christine Frizche
1989/90 Scarlet Paige Stone
1988/89 Dewey Yeatts
1987/88 Rhonda Grant
1986/87 Robert Conway Bates
1985/86 Margaret Grant/Sally Wright
1984/85 No Recipient
1983/84 Jervetta Renee Campbell
1982/83 Sheila Denise Black
1981/82 Susan Sidden
1980/81 Philip Harvey Myers
1979/80 Yolanda Ellerbe
1978/79 Rebecca Sue Williams
1977/78 Lea Ann Moreton
1976/77 Deborah Denise Ward
1975/76 Dana Leigh Stafford
1974/75 Richard D. Bliss
1973/74 Jane Moody