Databases
ABCDEFGHIJLMNOPRSTWNumAll Images Audio Video
Database Name:

Subject:

more information icon Click for more information about a database.


Middle Search Plus
This database contains full text for a variety of popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays.

 

Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books such as the Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia; New Oxford American Dictionary, 2nd Edition; Encyclopedia of Animals; and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.


ABI/Inform
Complete articles from hundreds of local and regional publications about the operations of U.S. and Canadian companies. Includes business trends, events and regional market and economic conditions. Coverage: Includes complete articles from over 550 titles from 1985-present. Searches the full-suite of ABI/Inform Products
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Access World News
Find current and archived state, national and international full-text articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 2,000 newspapers and other news sources including the Charlotte Observer (1985-Current), New York Times (1985-Current), Washington Post (1977-Current), and the Winston-Salem Journal (11/1/97-Current).

ACS Journals
ACS Publications Online offers access to the library's journal subscriptions published by the American Chemical Society: Accounts of Chemical Research, Analytical Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Reviews, Environmental Science & Technology, Journal of Organic Chemistry, Journal of the American Chemical Society, and Chemical & Engineering News Online.

African American Experience
Compilation of images of works published from 1693-1830, written by or about members of America's black populace. An ideal resource for individuals and students who wish to gain firsthand insight into black history in America. Carefully chosen subset of works from Early American Imprints 1639-1819. Created by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society.

African American Poetry
Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

AGRICOLA

Materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science.


Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
The Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals is a subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1988 and is updated continuously.

American Poetry
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.

American Religion Data Archive
The American Religion Data Archive (ARDA) is a project funded by the Lilly Endowment, Inc. and acts to preserve quantitative data on American religion, to improve access to this data, to increase the use of the data, and to allow comparisons across data files. The ARDA collection includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
A collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States compiled through nearly 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid connects you with primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world. You will find historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. ArchiveGrid also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies.

ArchiveGrid includes collection descriptions from WorldCat bibliographic records and from finding aids harvested from ArchiveGrid contributors' websites.


Art and Architecture Complete
Art and Architecture Complere provides full-text coverage of hundreds of periodicals and books, as well as cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for nearly a thousand academic journals, magazines and trade publications and books.

The database also provides selective coverage for additional publications and an immense Image Collection provided by Picture Desk and others. Full-text coverage dates back 75 years.

 
Art & Architecture Complete covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design and much more.

ArticleFirst
ArticleFirst contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

ArtNC
ArtNC is an educational resource from the North Carolina Museum of Art. This site is designed for educators, students, and anyone interested in looking at and learning from works of art.

Explore works of art that are teachable across disciplines and grade levels. Use lesson plans designed by teachers like you to easily integrate art into your classroom curriculum. Browse or create a concept map to discover concrete connections between works of art and concepts that you teach in the classroom. Create a portfolio to save good ideas, share them with colleagues, and personalize them to meet the needs of your students.
Bills from the NC General Assembly
Search for bills in the current NC General Assembly session as well as past sessions back to 1985-86.
Biography Reference Center
Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 460,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases. In addition to keyword searching, users can also locate biographies of interest by browsing more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders and many others.
Brittanica Online
 Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use Encyclopaedia Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts on the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided more than 1,300 journals.
Cambridge Journals Online
 Cambridge Journals Online offers access to over 100 Cambridge journals.
CAMIO
OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.  CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.
Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
Official web site for Centers for Disease Control (CDC). 
CINAHL with Full Text
 This database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines, and contains indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982, abstracts for over 250 journals, indexing for journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, pamphlets, educational software packages and audiovisual material. Full text for over 300 journals is provided via integrated links to Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition and Academic Search Elite.
Clase Periodica
 Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities
 
  • CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities.
  • PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.
  • Offers access to more than 600,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
  • Contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
 Provides research solutions in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch, and Mass Media Articles Index). Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources. In total, several hundred valuable sources are covered.
Company Profiles
With 10,000 company profiles, Datamonitor assesses the most important global companies, ensuring a balance between the US, European and Asian companies as well as the key vertical markets. Selected by a scoring system that takes into account: Stock exchange indices, investment bank coverage, key lists, annual turnover, and other minor factors including the number of employees, importance within the industry, future growth potential, and client feedback / customer demand for increased coverage.
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is the single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. CHC offers a unique search interface designed to call attention to the full text content available from many important source-types, and provide an intuitive means for searching this specific information. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
CountryWatch
CountryWatch provides information on each of the recognized countries of the world, including critical country-specific intelligence and data. Key publications produced by CountryWatch include the CountryReviews, an up-to-date series of publications for each country including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information, and the CountryWire, which provides daily news coverage for every country in the world and a significant news archive made up of the compendium of regional news carriers.
CQ Researcher
The CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world. Each 12,000-word report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Published 44 times a year, CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
CQ Weekly
Complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and back room maneuvering. Produced by the largest news team on Capitol Hill.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a completely customizable general reference solution for learners and librarians. Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology, via maps, math, management, martial arts, media studies, medicine, mountains, moons, music, multimedia, mythology.
Crime in North Carolina (Uniform Crime Report)
The North Carolina Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program is part of a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort administered by the Federal Bureau of Investigation. While the program’s primary objective is to generate a reliable set of criminal statistics for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management, its data have over the years become one the country’s leading social indicators.
 
The American public looks to Uniform Crime Reports for information on fluctuations in the level of crime, while criminologists, sociologists, legislators, municipal planners, the press and other students of criminal justice use the statistics for varied research and planning purposes.
 
Since 1973, law enforcement agencies throughout North Carolina have voluntarily submitted data to the State Bureau of Investigation on specific crimes committed in their areas of jurisdiction.
 
The Uniform Crime Reporting Program divides offenses into two major classifications which are designated Part 1 and Part 2. Law enforcement agencies report the number of offenses and associated crime data for the following Part 1 crimes: murder and non-negligent manslaughter, forcible rape, robbery, aggravated assault, burglary, larceny, motor vehicle theft and arson. Part 1 offenses, excluding negligent manslaughter and arson, are used to calculate the Crime Index and Crime Rate. All other offenses are classified as Part 2 offenses, however, only arrest data are reported for Part 2 offenses.
 
The UCR Program collects data on the age, race, and sex of persons arrested for all crimes except traffic violations.

Criminal Justice Abstracts
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 170,000 criminal justice publications.
Digital NC
The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing program housed in the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The Digital Heritage Center works with cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online. Through its free or low-cost digitization and online hosting services, the Digital Heritage Center provides libraries, archives, museums, historic sites, and other cultural heritage institutions with the opportunity to publicize and share their rare and unique collections online. The Center operates in conjunction with the State Library of North Carolina's NC ECHO (North Carolina Exploring Cultural Heritage Online) project. It is supported by the State Library of North Carolina with funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
24,467 titles in Literature, Technology, Career & Self Help, How-to books and more!
EDGAR
Contains registration statements,periodic reports9e.g., 10K, 8-K, etc), and other froms which public companies are repuired to file with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

English Poetry
Essentially the complete English poetic canon from 600 to 1900. Over 165,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Entrepreneurial Studies Source offers users full text for hundreds of periodicals and reference books, numerous case studies, thousands of company profiles and hundreds videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and Vator.TV, one of the world's largest social network sites for high-tech entrepreneurs.

ESS contains: Full text for more than 125 key periodicals,135 reference books, Thousands of company profiles, and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Seminar Series and Vator.TV
Environment Complete
This resource offers deep coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study.  This valuable database contains more than 2.5 million records from thousands of domestic and international titles dating back over 100 years  with over a thousand active core titles.
ERIC (Public)
FOR FULL-TEXT, SELECT ERIC (Subscription) DATABASE. The ERIC database (1966- present) contains 1.1 million bibliographic citations to a broad collection of education-related resources, from government reports to journal articles. Other materials include conference proceedings, project and program descriptions, curriculum guides, bibliographies, and more. ERIC will continue to index and disseminate information in the topics covered by the ERIC clearinghouses in addition to information on closing the achievement gap and educational practices that improve academic achievement and promote learning, as mandated by the Education Sciences Reform Act of 2002. Beginning in October 2004, ERIC provided users with online access to the full-text of approximately 107,000 ERIC documents in PDF image format. These materials are available at no cost and will continue to be updated.
ERIC (Subscription)
The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of research reports and journal articles on education research and practice. Some full text is available. This database covers materials published between 1966 and the present.
ETS Test Collection
The collection is the largest in the world. It was established to make information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students, and teachers. The tests contained in this collection were acquired from a variety of U.S. publishers and individual test authors. Foreign tests are also included in the collection, including some from Canada, Great Britain, and Australia.
Faber Poetry Library
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. The Faber list includes Ted Hughes, Seamus Heaney, T. S. Eliot and Sylvia Plath covering the seventy year history of this major publishing house.
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Updated annually, this database includes over 25,000 full text records, covering an array of subject areas.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Coverage: 1999 - 2005
GPO Access
Includes records on all subjects of interest to the United States government from 1976 to present.
GreenFile
This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides consumer oriented information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Includes searchable full text for over 150 consumer health journals, abstracts and indexing for nearly 175 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications, and thousands of Essays covering eight major health related subjects, including adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health and sports medicine. Includes results from Clinical Pharmacology, which replaces information previously obtained from USP DI: Volume II, Advice for the Patient.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides more than 400 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, and provides abstracts and indexing for over 500 journals. Also includes integrated results from Clinical Pharmacology (which replaces USP DI: Volume II, Advice for the Patient) and access to Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
HeritageQuest
Provides libraries with a unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Contains original page images for all documents, over 25,000 books, the entire U.S. Federal Census, PERSI., and other expanding collections.
Hoover's
This database covers public, private, and international companies. Includes overviews, major industry trends, industry links, and IPO information.

Information Bridge
The Information Bridge provides the open source to full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics. The Information Bridge consists of full-text documents produced and made available by the Department of Energy National Laboratories and grantees from 1995 forward. Additional legacy documents are also included as they become available in electronic format.
JSTOR
JSTOR (Mathematics & Statistics, Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II) contains full text for scholarly titles, including many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, sociology, Asian studies, mathematics, statistics, archaeology, classics, African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR also provides links to recent content for journals available in Project MUSE.
Learning Express Library
LearningExpress Library provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass.
Legal Information Reference Center
Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis.
LexisNexis
Access over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
Literary Reference Center Plus
Literary Reference Center Plus features all of the content in Literary Reference Center, but includes additional valuable content, such as full-text resources focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, children's literature. This database also includes volumes of Fantasy/Science Fiction, Contemporary Literature, World Philosophy and Religious Literature and literary study guides covering American Literature, English Literature and literary genres.
MAS Complete
A comprehensive general reference database designed for high school and junior college libraries. Includes reports and special issues from over 460 of the most wanted K-12 magazines, Essential Documents in American History (a database of over 1,000 original historical documents including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.), over 3,000 charts, tables and graphs, coverage of the CIA World Factbook, Magill's Book Reviews, and searchable full text for 145 Macmillan Books. Total coverage includes over 1 million articles.
MasterFILE Complete
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Medline/PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources 
Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect is highly flexible and features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate new insightful business intelligence. Powered by Mergent’s expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B/Hoover’s 85 million+ private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news (First Research®), facts and figures, company and executive contact information and much more.
Middle Search Plus
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags
Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications, and news weeklies. Military & Government Collection includes abstracts and indexing for nearly 400 titles providing cover to cover full text for nearly 350. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Combines in one timely database all the fund and stock information necessary for in-depth research. In one database, you have comprehensive information on both mutual funds and stocks. And each fund and stock report is loaded with critical data and decisive analysis.
NC Live Video Collection
A streaming video collection of over 500 educational and documentary programs produced for the Public Broadcasting Corporation (PBS). Includes selected episodes from "American Experience" and "Frontline," Ken Burns's "Civil War" and "Jazz," and much more.
netLibrary (now eBooks on EBSCOhost)
24,467 titles in Literature, Technology, Career & Self Help, How-to books and more!
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus provides cover-to-cover full text for 149 national & international newspapers, including The New York Times, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Age, The Australian, The Toronto Star, The Irish Times and others. The database also contains selective full text for more than 410 U.S newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, San Jose Mercury News, etc.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries (NWLD)
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (NWLD) includes the immediate experiences of 1,017 women, as revealed in approximately 120,000 pages of diaries and letters.
NoveList
A readers' advisory service that is searchable by author, title, series name, and plot (including character, topic, time period, and setting) to retrieve descriptions, reviews, discussion guides, and feature articles related to books of interest. Readers may select from information provided to find similar books that appeal to them. Updated and expanded monthly, the service also includes author read-alikes, lists of award-winning fiction, and book lists arranged by genre and subgenre, feature articles, school content and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today.s hottest social issues. It includes more than 400 titles from Greenhaven Press Series, including Opposing Viewpoints, Opposing Viewpoints Digests, At Issue, Contemporary Issues Companion, Current Controversies and Teen Decisions to help students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Points of View Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). For each topic, this database also offers a Guide to Critical Analysis, which helps the reader evaluate the controversial topics. The Guide to Critical Analysis enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.

Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The database also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.
POPLINE
POPLINE®(POPulation information onLINE) contains citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE is maintained by the K4Health Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded by the United States Agency for International Development. (USAID).

POPLINE has nearly 370,000 records and has been maintained since 1973 by the K4Health Project (formerly INFO Project). The majority of items are published from 1970 to the present, however, there are selected citations dating back to 1827. The database adds 8,000 records annually.
 
In addition to free text searching, the database can be searched by keywords from the POPLINE Thesaurus , a controlled vocabulary of 2,400+ terms used to index documents in the database.
 
POPLINE's special features include links to free, fulltext documents; the ability to limit your search to peer-reviewed journal articles; RSS feeds for topical searches; and many abstracts in French and Spanish.

Primary Search
Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children's rooms, contains full text for more than 60 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Examples of publications covered in Primary Search include: Appleseeds, Boys' Life, Cobblestone, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider, SuperScience, Time for Kids, Turtle, and many more. This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1989, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as 1984.
Project MUSE
Currently, Project MUSE offers nearly 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. As one of the the academic community's primary electronic periodicals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Project MUSE is setting the standard for scholarly electronic journals in the humanities and social sciences. At this time, Project MUSE subscriptions are available only to institutions.
PsycArticles
PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 56 journals - 45 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1985 to present.
PsycINFO
Indexes over 1300 journals in psychology and related disciplines from 1887 to present.
PubMed
 A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies - is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. The main criterion for inclusion in the bibliography is that the article be based on scientific research, or contain important information for such research. Since the inception of this bibliographic project in 1966, the editorial board has striven to include in it all of the important articles published throughout the world in the field of Judaica. Therefore, it includes offprints of articles from journals or collections not on order to the Library. Rambi also lists articles from secondary sources.
Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Click here for a complete title list. Click here for more info.
Research in Ministry (RIM)
RIM Online is a freely available database that indexes D.Min. projects from reporting schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada. Indexing began in 1981. Author, title, project advisor, institution, and subject access are provided. In addition, an abstract for each project is included when one has been provided by the author.
Resources for College Libraries
Resources for College Libraries contains a core collection of hand-selected titles in 58 curriculum-specific subject areas, such as Humanities, Languages and Literature, History, Social Sciences and Professional Studies, Science and Technology, and Interdisciplinary and Area Studies. Bowker and the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) Choice present more than 60,000 core titles carefully considered and confidently chosen.
Sanborn Maps North Carolina
Sanborn Maps for the state of North Carolina provides digital access to 11,173 large-scale maps of 158 North Carolina towns and cities. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and compare maps from different years.
Scirus
covers scientific information through ScienceDirect, MEDLINE on BioMedNet, Beilstein on ChemWeb, Neuroscion, BioMed Central and Patents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office, and related information on the Web.
Serials Directory
Provides up-to-date information and pricing for popular magazines and other serials. Contains listings for over 150,000 U.S. and international titles, including 8,000 newspapers. Also includes data on over 87,000 publishers worldwide.
SimplyMap
 SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data.
SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus is the most comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. With full bibliographic coverage, this database includes over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. The content also consists of international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre.

The Merck Manuals
The Merck Manuals explain disorders, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they can be treated; also provides information about prognosis.

Based on the world's most widely used textbook of medicine—The Merck Manual—but written in everyday language by 300 outstanding contributors.


TOPICsearch
A current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 60,000 articles from 399 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Twentieth Century African-American Poetry
A collection of poetry written by the most important and influential African American poets of the twentieth century. Presently includes over 6,000 poems from over 100 complete editions by 46 poets.
Twentieth Century American Poetry
A database of modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Presently includes 36,000 poems drawn from 460 volumes by 217 poets.
Twentieth Century English Poetry
Containing tens of thousands of works by 288 poets, Twentieth-Century English Poetry provides an overview of poetry written in the 20th century by both established and emerging writers.

WorldCat


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files